South East Ireland

Counties Waterford, Wexford, Kilkenny, Tipperary Carlow make up the area which is known as Ireland's "Sunny Southeast".  

Waterford is Ireland's oldest city and the largest in the southeast, is an ideal place for shopping and nightlife. Waterford County offers some of Ireland’s most amazing scenery along the famous Copper Coast and is a popular place to visit in summer because of its sandy beaches, rocky inlets, cliffs, and bays.

Wexford boasts some of Ireland's longest and best beaches and many visit them in the summer months. During the 1798 rebellion many battles were fought in County Wexford including defeat at Vinegar Hill, outside Enniscorthy.

Kilkenny today is a popular destination for those interested in culture and the Arts. An impressive castle, Kilkenny Castle is a focal point for visitors to the city.

Tipperary is vast and varied county boasting a number of historical attractions with lush valleys and a landscape enriched by the Galtee Mountains and the mystical Slievenamon

Carlow is one of Ireland's smallest counties with miles of beautiful countryside. Here Carlow Castle and the Carlow museum may be seen.

Click here to download the Failte Ireland brochure on the South East of Ireland.